Market Harborough
U3A Millennium Tapestry

Harborough was a busy posting stage on one of the long distance routes of England. The main coaching Inns were The Three Swans, The Angel, The Talbot, The Bell, The Peacock and The George. The Three Swans changed its name from the Swan about 1790, and was first mentioned in 1517. Its fine inn sign is mostly early 18th century wrought iron. The inn s most famous landlord was John Fothergill (1876-1957), who owned the premises between 19 34 and 1952. The panel shows a coach of about 1836, the inn signs of the four coaching inns remaining in the town and the splendid 18th century wrought iron sign of the Three Swans. The modern equivalent of the stage coach is, strangely enough, called Stagecoach and the company has a base at Northampton.


Title Embroiderer Designer
Coaching Inns Delia Woodbridge Anne Allen