Market Harborough
U3A Millennium Tapestry

Coat of Arms

Before 1953, earlier councils of Harborough used the Coat of Arms of the Earl of Harborough. In that year, a new one incorporating elements of it was devised and used until 1974. Local government reorganisation caused the demise of the Market Harborough Urban District Council and the formation of the new one. The Earldom of Harborough no longer exists and the family, the Sherrards, never lived here, but they must have had some attachment for the town as they built the building known as the Old Town Hall.



Title Embroiderer Designer
Coat of Arms Emily Lancaster Anne Allen