Market Harborough
U3A Millennium Tapestry

The Square was called the Sheep Market until the late 1800s and has been the setting for markets, fairs, parades and public gatherings for centuries. The sale of cattle, sheep and other animals was moved from the Square to the new cattle market in Springfield Street in 1903, and the stalls of the general market moved to a new hall in Northampton Road in 1938. The War Memorial to 254 Harborians killed in the First World War (1914-1918) was designed by W Talbot Brown and dedicated in September 1921. It was paid for by public subscription, the residue used to fund the Memorial Wing of the Cottage Hospital in Coventry Road. In modern times, the Square is still used for stalls on occasions like the Carnival and Late Night Shopping. Next to the late seventeenth century Welland House are the wrought iron gates of the Memorial Gardens.

Welland House is now the headquarters of the Market Harborough Building Society founded in 1870, and one of the oldest building societies in the country. The splendid three storey building, now a bank, was built in 1876 and called Catherwood House. It was the home of William Bragg, who had a chemist s shop in the town.

Title Embroiderer Designer
The Square Bunty Jones Sheila Pendered