Market Harborough
U3A Millennium Tapestry

St. Mary-in-Arden

The now ruined Church of St. Mary-in-Arden was originally built in the twelfth century. The Churchyard was cleared in 1956, many of the good Swithland slate headstones being placed around the Church. An old custom is still re-enacted on Easter Eve each year, when the choir of Market Harborough Parish Church sings a hymn around the grave of William Hubbard, a market gardener. He died in 1786 leaving a guinea a year on condition that this ceremony continued.




Title Embroiderer Designer
 St. Mary-in-Arden Sheila Carrara Marjorie Clements